Re-visiting the Goals of my Blog

back in timeI started this blog way back in 2011, not my idea at all. Blogging was new to me, I hardly read any to mention but I was no novice to writing and God had given me something to share.  Like most people who start blogging, I had been called to share the footprints of my testimony even before it would materialise – call it a step in faith.

So the Colonel’s intent (a phrase stolen from ‘Made to Stick’ by Chip and Dan Heath) of this blog was to share my healing journey – this was my overarching goal.

However, I haven’t always been true to my CI – I’ve wavered off course quite a few times and left it dormant as I focused on my ministry website.  A good mirror of life, we often get so busy with other stuff that we forget to focus on ourselves, our needs, our journey.

I learnt that at cost to myself this year.

I struggled to find a place to express myself without others viewing me as an ‘guru’ just because I had set up an online ministry, and then feeling let down by my weaknesses.

People can do that you know?  They come to you hoping that you will fix them and when they realise that you don’t have it altogether, they go and look for someone who does (good luck with that).

So my second goal would be to create a space where I can be myself weaknesses and all.

But saying all of this, I was called to share and testify.  This means sharing the good, bad and ugly but it also means testifying to hope, salvation and truth.

I don’t want this blog to be all about me, I also want it to be about other people who are searching for answers to their chronic health problems.  i want people to come here and find hope, truth and salvation – this is the Good News in a Nutshell.

So my last goal would be to make a difference to the lives of others with chronic illness.

OK – so now I have to ‘SMARTify’ my goals, here goes:

  1. Write updates on my journey at least twice a month but if I can 4 times a month would be great.
  2. As well as sharing lessons, share failures and vulnerabilities too – be led by my heart and what I’m experiencing right now.  If I need to go off course that’s Ok – but remember the CI.
  3. Make sure I conclude each post with a take-away point that helps others or a scripture verse/affirmation.

Ok, so that’s it

Scripture verse – a favourite of mine

But you, take courage! Do not let your hands be weak, for your work shall be rewarded.” 2 Chronicles 15:7 ESV

 Blogging201 – Day 1

3 thoughts on “Re-visiting the Goals of my Blog

Please leave a reply, I would love to hear what you think