Stream of Consciousness (Writing 101)

Monday morning 11am, kids screaming – not mine – I live opposite a nursery.  There is one child who I have come to know, her high pitched screaming is enough to send you running for cover.  And there’s the little boy who always seems to be crying, great heathing, shrieking sobs, when one starts soon there’s just the cocophony of little voices sounding not so little anymore.

And if I’d forgotten the assortment of nursery rhymes I once new, that is not the case anymore, and even some that I have never heard before.  These are the sounds that I am greeted with Monday to Friday 9am to 6pm.

I really do hate to sound moany, but it’s a lesson I guess.  I appreciate those nursery woekers in a new way, teachers often say that working in a nursery must be so easy.  Possibly if you have a real vocation in this area, but it’s definitely not for the faint hearted.  Kids need a lot of love, attention and patience – who can blame them they’re missing their mummies and daddies.

Yesterday, I was thinking about life anthems.  When you get to the end of your life what would be your life anthem?  For me there are two extremes, both songs I have sung at different occassions but one of them I’m resolving to sing more over the other.

The first anthem, which you all probably know goes like this, “nobody knows the troubles I’ve seen, nobody knows but my Saviour.”  I usually reserve this song for those days where I feel particularly miserable and sorry for myself.

The other anthem, is the one that I choose to make my life anthem, or I might find a better one, but I’ll keep this one until then.

“Great is thy faithfulness, great is thy faithfulness, morning by morning new mercies I see.  All I have needed thy hands have provided, great is thy faithfulness Lord onto me.”

As you can see, two very different life anthems.  Which one best portrays your outlook on life right now?

It’s OK, if you’re honest enough to say that your life anthem isn’t as upbeat as you would like it to be, because there’s always room for change and growth.

(more crying and nursery rhymes…)

Whew, this writing your stream of conscious is harder than I thought.

This activity has taught me a lot actually, it’s taught me how random my thoughts can be and it’s also taught me why I like to reflect on what I’m thinking before putting down onto paper/screen.

Well, if you’ve managed to get anything useful or coherent at all, from out of this blog post – thank God.

I await the next challange in Writing 101.

6 thoughts on “Stream of Consciousness (Writing 101)

  1. Achama,
    What a challenge to remember God’s faithfulness at times, but like you, I would rather have that as my song…but God is so good to also allow us those times of groaning because we all have them…blessings to you 🙂

Please leave a reply, I would love to hear what you think

