Another look at psalm 119

I love the psalms but I have always shied away from psalm 119, maybe it was its length or all those references to testimonies, precepts and instructions, but on Wednesday I was given homework to read it.  So on Thursday during my prayer time, I read the first 25 verses, not so bad, then Friday I read the whole thing through.  Why?

There was something about the intensity of the words that gripped me, I could feel the juxtaposition of faith and love struggle alongside fear and torment, and I could see myself in those lines.  I have uttered these words before, I have felt this way, I am here.

Before I was afflicted I went astray: but now have I kept thy word.
It is good for me that I have been afflicted; that I might learn thy statutes.

Verse 67 & 71

Sometimes the only time when we truly seek God is during and after affliction, affliction may be a form of God’s judgement, a consequence of our own behaviour.  From this judgement we learn just how mighty and awesome God is and realise that there is truly none like Him, our desire becomes to learn more about this awesome God and walk in His ways.

81-83My soul fainteth for thy salvation: but I hope in thy word.
Mine eyes fail for thy word, saying, When wilt thou comfort me?
For I am become like a bottle in the smoke; yet do I not forget thy statutes.

Sometimes the pain of waiting is next to torturous, the only thing we can do is to diligently seek for and hope in His Word to comfort and redeem us.  We faint but yet His Spirit keeps us in the journey.

92-93 Unless thy law had been my delights, I should then have perished in mine affliction.  I will never forget thy precepts: for with them thou hast quickened me.

Every other line seems to be a heartfelt plea for help, then praise and then a deeper seeking of the Word of God.  These are our 3 weapons that we should use in good and bad:

  1. Prayer from an upright heart
  2. Praise, worship and thanksgiving
  3. Reading the Word and meditating on His law

God has promised to deliver us and rescue us, our situation is not forever.  I will have heart and hope in the Lord of Heaven and Earth.

 

3 thoughts on “Another look at psalm 119

  1. Psalm 119 is like a book of instructions for a healthy life. Once, 20 years ago, the Lord stopped me still for 6 months after a small stroke. I spent 6 months in Ps 119- getting my life into a sustainable order. He stripped me of all outwards tasks and encouraged me to work hard on the upwards relationship= my relationship with Abba, Father.When I was allowed out again, He said I would be kept whole and holy in body mind and spirit [ 1 Thessalonians 5.23 ]-IF I kept the upright relationship strong and the outward arms [ think of the cross] always in submission to His plans and purposes for my life- doing what he strengthened me for- and not just doing all the things i thought OUGHT to be doing !! lol.
    This verse you quoted being perfectly proven: 92-93 Unless thy law had been my delights, I should then have perished in mine affliction. I will never forget thy precepts: for with them thou hast quickened me.

    1. Wow Mary, that’s great I would love to hear more about your experience and what God taught you, I have to admit that I do struggle with rest but YHVH is really pushing me in this area. I know I have to as it was one of the major reasons if not the main reason for falling ill, so any help or tips you can provide in this area would be greatly appreciated. Maybe you can send me a message via the well being community xxx

  2. Dear Achama,

    I think suffering, however it reaches us, can cause us to either draw nearer to God or to become bitter and withdraw from Him. It sounds like the psalmist in Psalm 119 allowed God to use it for His good purposes in His life. One of God’s purposes is for us to draw closer to Him and to experience His love for us in deepening ways. This has been my experience although sometimes when I was in the middle of my trial, He seemed to be a distant and uncaring God. Praying His peace and healing for you.

Please leave a reply, I would love to hear what you think

