Who do you delight in?

A few weeks back, one of my dear blog friends wrote a post on delight, she wrote about the wonderful things which delighted her and then asked the question “what brings you delight?”  I stopped and thought about this, have I ever experienced delight?  What does delight actually mean?  As someone who has and still sometimes struggle with depression, it’s often hard for me at times to grasp moments of happiness and peace and stamp them in my mind as an eternal reminder of those moments.  To me delight means more than happiness and to me it feels like it ought to be a sharper and more intense feeling than joy, maybe possibly unadulterated, pure joy that lasts only fleetingly before you come back down from that supernatural high.  I turn to my hubby and ask him, “what brings you delight?” and hope that I am somewhere on that list.  With sadness in his eyes he replies slowly “only one thing brings me delight, that is YAH.”  I understand what he means; I turn to the dictionary for help, it reads:

Delight – to take great pleasure or joy

A bit more clearer now… what gives me great pleasure or joy?  To be honest my pleasures are fleeting and my joys brief.

Delight yourself also in YHVH and He shall give you the desires of your heart.

Psalm 37: 4

I think that maybe I have been looking for delight in the wrong places, hoping to receive my dose of joy from temporal things.  Maybe the secret to great happiness can only be found in finding joy in God.  When I find great pleasure in Him, He will cause me to find lasting joy by giving me those things which my soul yearns for, the desires of my heart.

delightful scenery a place of peace

Lord, please teach me how to delight in You.

Blessings and Shalom in Messiah

Florence Achama

7 thoughts on “Who do you delight in?

  1. I feel you digging deep here. I pray that the Lord blesses your efforts and floods you with joy and the ability to delight fully (and only) in Him!! Really great post that challenges me to ask myself that question. Thank you, friend! Blessings to you in Christ Jesus.

    1. Thanks Natalie, I’m glad to hear from you – missed your presence. I think the challenge for us all is to go to God for our daily bread whatever it may be, for me that’s mostly joy, peace, rest, strength and courage … quite a lot really. I need to go to Him because He promises to satisfy my hunger and thirst, but I’m still in the process of working out how to find Him.

      1. Hi Florence. Thanks for missing me 🙂 I have been on vacation. I am glad to be back! Yes, that is the challenge…to go to God each and every day to be filled and satisfied by Him.

        Lord, meet our needs today. You alone know what we need and ARE what we need. Fill every hole. Close in every gap. Let us be satisfied by you and delight in you. Be ou joy, peace and strength! We love you, Lord! Help us to love you more. In Jesus’ name – Amen.

  2. Praying with you, Florence…may you know how much God delights in you and may you find your deepest delight in Him for He created you/us with a desire to be loved that can only be met in Him…may you also delight in all the good gifts He gives you…love and hugs, my friend 🙂

  3. Thank you for visiting my blog, Florence. As you say, we have a slightly different slant, but come to similar conclusions. That’s the beauty of having community, we have the perspective of binocular vision – depth perception. Your post is powerfully introspective. Dealing with depression is hard work. I pray that God may lift you into his arms that you might feel true delight often.

    1. You are welcome and thank you. Yes, dealing with depression is hard work but it’s helped me to understand that YAH truly is my strength an my song. The hardest thing at times is being able to find Him in the midst of everything going on around me, but I don’t know how He does because He always leads me back into His Shabbat Shalom.

      Shalom to you dear Judith xxx

Please leave a reply, I would love to hear what you think

