Perseverance and commitment

image

I find it funny that when God gives you a word such as perseverance that relates to building up a godly characteristic, He really makes you earn your stripes.  Since this word was given to me things seem much more difficult and challenging in the areas I know I need to persevere in.  But whoever heard of perseverance being easy right?  The truth is that you can’t build a godly characteristic on ease or simplicity.  I understand that God is challenging me in order to build and equip me because, to persevere means courage, strength, trust, faith and letting go, all areas that I know I struggle with.

There is another aspect of perseverance that has also been challenged along the way, commitment.  The ability to persevere is positively linked to how committed we are to that thing.  Commitment consists of two aspects: dedication and application, this tells us that it’s not enough for us to say I’m dedicated to completing this, making this work, arriving at this goal etc” if we don’t follow this through with actions, in such a case it is our works which prove our commitment.

The bible tells us that God is committed to Israel, His children and His creation, how do we know this?  Yes, because the bible tells us so but also because God has proved it by His actions!  God should be our guide to what true commitment and perseverance looks like, He has never taken His eyes of the goal of ensuring our salvation and all His time, energy and resources have gone into bringing this goal to fruition for as many as who will be saved.

But can we mere mortals really be as committed as God?
I’m not sure whether it’s a question of can but more of should we strive for and does God expect us to show commitment, and I believe the answer is yes.  God told Joshua:

Only be thou strong and very courageous, that thou mayest observe to do according to all the law, which Moses my servant commanded thee: turn not from it to the right hand or to the left, that thou mayest prosper withersoever thou goest.

Joshua 1:7

From this verse alone we see God telling Joshua to persevere in the work of his hand but also to be committed to accomplishing it in thought and action. 

I don’t know If I’m making sense, but I see commitment as somewhat being single-minded and like wearing blinkers.  There will definitely be things which challenge us, cause us to fear and tremble and want to say I can’t do this anymore, but I think the most encouraging thing for me is that God’s commandment to me, to you is still His divine word spoken over us.  God wasn’t really commanding Joshua but speaking reality over Him, so if God has spoken the word of perseverance and commitment over you like He has for me, let us remember these simple truths: God does not lie, He will not overburden us and that there is power in His word.

Blessings in Yeshua Messiah

This week I’ll be linking up with Jen @ finding heaven today who I’ve really missed.

2 thoughts on “Perseverance and commitment

  1. It is a mystery: God gives us grace to persevere and we commit to Him and He strengthens us to persevere…it is a partnership with Him. Praying that God will sustain you through your most recent trials…sending you a HUG my friend.

    1. Dear Dolly, thanks for the hug and your continued support they mean so much to me.

      You are absolutely right about it being a partnership, one of the things I’m persevering in is supporting my body to heal naturally, God has really convicted me in this area, but when the pain etc. kicks in, I get nervous and start to second guess, I even began to rationalise giving up but luckily for me my hubby reminded me of the word God gave to me.

      I thank God for all the people in my life that support me along,my journey

Please leave a reply, I would love to hear what you think

