Our Joy and privilege – let’s sing His praise

Today, I’m excited and blessed to share with you my joy which is really our joy so here goes.

This morning I woke up with a song in my heart ( I love it when God does that because I know that God has been speaking to my soul in the night), the song goes like this:

He is worthy, worthy
For He is good, yes He is good…
(repeated many times)

so I sang this song, and after I sang this song another song popped into my heart…

In the name of Jesus x2
I have the victory

In the name of Jesus x2
Satan you have to flee (x2)

Tell me who can stand before us 
when we call on His great name? 
Yeshua x4
I have the victory. 

And so after singing this song I felt stirred in the spirit to pray and then this last song came into my heart:

Lord I lift your name on high 
Lord I love to sing your praises 
I’m so glad you are in my life 
I’m so glad you came to save us.

You came from heaven to earth, to show the way 
From the earth to the cross, my debt to pay 
From the cross to the grave, from the grave to the sky 
Lord I lift your name on high. 

And after I had prayed and finished these songs I stopped to think about what was going on in my heart.  You see, today is my birthday, and today I am 31, but every year on my birthday from as young as I can remember I am always filled with a deep sadness; it’s the kind of sadness that comes from feeling alone and misunderstood in the world.  I had always looked to others to make me feel special on this day, my parents, even my wonderful hubby, but inevitably something would always go wrong and within a few minutes of waking I would be disappointed… but not today.

God came to speak to me in the night and told me of His wonderful love and goodness towards me, and yes I know I may not be at my physical peak and  I may be unemployed but He gave me a beautiful song to sing to Him today because I am not alone neither am I misunderstood any more, I have a Father who loves me.

And these songs reminded me of a simple truth, that God’s love and goodness towards His children isn’t based on our own goodness, rightness or worthiness.  We can’t even love like He loves or be as good as Him, because His goodness is justice, rightness, mercy, love, holiness and perfection rolled into One.  His goodness takes someone who thinks they are OK but are truly lost and breaks them down to the last breath, not because He enjoys hurting us because it is His desire to build us up, heal us and magnify us.

Our Father is so awesome, that He stooped down low, so low to come down to earth to show us the way to love Him, honour Him and be true to Him.  He came down because He knew we couldn’t do it alone, He came down to die for us so that we could be saved, and so He could come and speak to us in the night so in the morning we would have the strength to face the day, so that He could lead us and we could follow, so that we would find a deeper intimacy in Him and with Him.  I love AbiYah.

And do you know what else He did, He gave us the power and authority to overcome, to trample on lions and serpents underfoot.  We have victory simply because we reside in Him and He lives within us!  So today, right now I feel honoured, blessed and privileged to know God as my  Father, my King, my friend, my comforter, my Saviour and I pray that today Satan does not steal this joy from me whether it’s through my health, finances or other people.

Precious God, El Shaddai I just want to say thank you for already making this birthday a joyous occasion for me.

Today is not about me, but my gratitude to God that speaks of another year marking His watching over me, I am so grateful because He chose me and called me to be His own.  I am so thankful because I didn’t have to be chosen, I could have still been lost, but He found me.  I am so, so grateful because I really don’t know where I would be without Him in my life and I am so glad that He came to save me.  So today, I choose to make this day about Him and what He has done for me, will you join me in praising and worshipping Him?

Please join me by adding 1 or 2 of your favourite praise and worship song links to the comments, so that we can all share in praising Him today.

Love you all in Christ (Yeshua HaMashiach) xxx

I’m visiting Joan and the gang @ Grace Cafe this week, won’t you drop by too?

8 thoughts on “Our Joy and privilege – let’s sing His praise

  1. Florence, what a beautiful perfect gift the Lord gave you for your birthday. He is so faithful. He put songs in your heart to carry you! Today is my son’s 29th birthday and I pray that he opens his heart to receive what the Lord has for him as well!
    Happy birthday and Happy Thanksgiving! Be blessed in your body from the top of your head to the souls of your feet! In Jesus mighty name, amen!

    ~Erin

    Here is a song that really blesses me!

    1. Amen, Amen, Amen Erin and also such a lovely name!!!

      I’m wishing your son a fabulous and joyful, spirit-filled b’day and a year full of love and blessings.

      I will definitely listen to your song, but wait until the evening to listen to them all quietly.

  2. Hi Florence:

    Happy birthday! I pray that you have a blessed and wonderful day.

    It’s hard to pick out one favorite worship song, but this one by Paul Baloche is one of my favorites. It lifts me up to the throne everytime I hear it. (Hope the link comes through okay. Another one is The Revelation Song by Kari Jobe.

    Blessings,
    Joan

  3. Hi Florence,

    Happy Birthday! What a wonderful and beautiful gift God gave you and how you expanded His gift by sharing it with us. I noticed someone already shared Laura’s Story’s song, “Blessings” with you. I love the song and the story behind it as Laura’s husband was diagnosed about 5 or 6 years ago, if I recall, with a brain tumor.

    Praying that God continues to bless you with an awareness of His great love and delight in you. Thank you for sharing and I pray that you have a most blessed day!

Please leave a reply, I would love to hear what you think

