A victim of dangerous disobedience…

Do you believe that there is a connection between faith and obedience, doubt and disobedience?  I do.  Most of the time we view faith as a set of beliefs or feelings and ignore the fact that faith also relates to behaviour.  I have found that people with strong faith possess a faith ‘attitude’ ie. they have the correct attitude and beliefs about God which is generally developed through a range of experiences and that these experience engender feelings of trust and security which in turn leads to increased levels of obedience.  People who struggle in their faith walk tend to show the opposite characteristics.  But what does the Bible tell us about the connection between faith and obedience?

I really want to focus on the account of Samuel and Saul as told in 1 Samuel 15 which outlines the events leading up to the kingdom finally being taken away from King Saul.  God gave Saul a commandment and Saul disobeyed (partial obedience is still disobedience) again and instead did what he felt was best to do ie. saving the Gentile King and slaughtering the sheep for a burnt offering.  What interests me is that Saul really saw nothing wrong with what he’d done, he’d killed all the Amalekites save the King, he’d managed to get all their goodies and add them to his own store house and on top of that he’d even offered a sacrifice to God (real brownie points here, no?).

No.  When Samuel is confronted with the post-conquering scene, he sees just how much Saul has disobeyed God and pulls Saul up on this, again.  Saul replies and says I took the sheep to sacrifice them to the Lord thy God, to which God answers (through Samuel) verse 22 and 23:

Hath the LORD [as great] delight in burnt offerings and sacrifices, as in obeying the voice of the LORD? Behold, to obey [is] better than sacrifice, [and] to hearken than the fat of rams.

For rebellion [is as] the sin of witchcraft, and stubbornness [is as] iniquity and idolatry. Because thou hast rejected the word of the LORD, he hath also rejected thee from [being] king.

I feel that this chapter and indeed the reign of King Saul clearly shows the link between faith and obedience and doubt and disobedience, you may question whether Saul actually doubted God, he did otherwise why would he have disobeyed Him and why address God as Samuel’s God and not his own? But in addition to this I feel that this book tells us something about the mentality and consequences of a doubting individual.  The incident described in chapter 15 was really the last nail in Saul’s coffin and from then forward God had in spirit if not in the physical given the crown over to someone who would believe and trust Him and hear and obey Him (mostly).  I see Saul’s doubt as a precursor to a chain of events not only leading to the loss of his crown but to an untimely and brutal death.  At the end of the day, it wasn’t the sheep being sacrificed but Saul himself and this is what I call being a victim of dangerous disobedience.

Saul rips Samuel's clothes
The LORD hath rent the kingdom of Israel from thee this day, and hath given it to a neighbour of thine, that is better than thou. v. 27

So why have I told you all of this, surely not another comparison on Saul vs David?  The reason I am telling you this is to set the scene for something which I have gone through this weekend past.  To be blunt Saturday onwards has been horrible for me simply because I failed to heed and obey the Word of God, as a consequence I ended up sacrificing my health and wellbeing when that should not have been the case.  Let me explain.

Usually, I am one of those people who avidly read the ingredients to everything I consume and use and discard anything that seems to have an unatural or a known toxin.  On Friday, I was absolutely desperate to dye my hair (being 30 and gray doesn’t go done well with me) and I had bought what I thought was a natural henna hair dye.  On reading the box, I saw two things which set off alarm bells in my head:

  1. A chemical ingredient called PPD
  2. The product was halal

I felt God telling me not to use the product but I pushed it aside (think Saul) and thought to myself “what’s the worst that could happen?”  So I went ahead and dyed my hair, but lo and behold the next day I started to feel a resurgence of my old symptoms return which had been dormant for many months.  At first I thought I might have eaten something I shouldn’t have but, when the intensity of the symptoms increased I knew it was more than a food issue.  After much prayer and introspection I realised that the culprit was the hair-dye, in particular the chemical included in the dye.  For those of you who do not know I have been diagnosed with CFS which is both a nerve and immune system disorder, up until this time God had been doing some wonderful things for me but this chemical turned out to be both a nervous and immune system toxin!!!

So here I am today, I’ve gone back in time reliving horrible symptoms just because I chose not to obey God’s voice.  I praise God that in His mercy, the symptoms are not as bad as they have been at their very worst, but they are bad enough for me to regret ever sacrificing myself in this way by putting my desire over obeying God’s word.  I am both the culprit and victim of dangerous disobedience, nevertheless, I choose to believe that this is just a bump in the road and that God will restore and increase what has been taken away from this incident because I have repented and seen the error of my ways.

Even though the Bible tells us that Faith pleases God, God’s pleasure is much more altruistic than our own.  If doubt cause disobedience and disobedience causes destruction, than faith causes obedience which results in life.  Faith is pleasing to God because it causes us to have life and salvation, our faith causes us to walk in paths of righteousness that will guard and protect us from destruction and sacrificing ourselves on the altar of sin.

So now, as I am working with God to counteract and treat these symptoms my plan is prevention rather than cure, to become more diligent in listening and obeying God’s Word in the small as well as the big things.

Have you ever done anything that was dangerously disobedient, or to put it another way has your disobedience ever endangered you or someone else?  If not too traumatic, I would love to hear from you.

Many Blessings in Yeshua (Jesus)

Linking up with Grace Cafe and Soli Deo Gloria this week

9 thoughts on “A victim of dangerous disobedience…

  1. I was just reading a book today that had a thought like yours — there are consequences to giving into doubt.

    Praying that the symptoms go away soon and that you can walk in His grace fully.

  2. You may feel as if you’ve taken a small step backwards but in reality you’ve taken a mighty step forward because now you know that you know what the basis of faith is – and that is obedience. And now you’ll be able to stand even more solidly in faith because you have grown that much more. I know you’ll be well soon, but in the meantime, thanks for sharing your experience and your witness with the rest of us. God bless.

    1. Hi Ronnie,

      when I read your comment I nearly shed tears because I was sooo overwhelmed that you understood what I was trying to say and the fear that gripped me because of the result of my behaviour. I really do thank God that He has brought people like you that see past the words to the heart underneath because it really does enable me to be ministered to in a true and vital way. Thinking of and praying for you also in your journey of faith and healing.

      xxx

  3. Hello Florence, I wanted to take a moment to comment on this blog. I agree with what Ronnie said about taking a mighty step forward. One of the big keys to faith is understanding it is linked with obedience. Some people never realize this and it just becomes a “word” that they use and they never see any results in their life. A passage from the Gospel of John comes to my mind-John 3:36 says “He who believes in the Son has eternal life; but he who does not obey the Son will not see life, but the wrath of God abides on him.” This shows that belief (another word for faith) is directly linked to obedience. After all, if you have faith or belief, your actions will show that.

    I enjoyed reading your blog, you hit on several truths! I pray that your symptoms will be relieved as you continue in the Word. By the way, thanks for checking out my blog and the kind words : ) Much appreciated.

    Shalom,
    Nathaniel

    1. Hi again Nathaniel,

      Toda! Thank you for visiting my blog and leaving such supportive and encouraging words. This is really a place where I can be myself and express what God is doing in me and for me. I sometimes get frustrated with myself because most of my posts seem to be negative and somewhat depressing (in my eyes anyway) every week seems to be a new challenge, but I would really feel like a hypocrite if all I wrote was about how wonderful my life is and how good God has been to me (even though He always is). To me this blog is about the journey, and I cherish all the comments I receive because they also support, encourage and challenge me in so many different ways and I hope that this blog will also minister to others who maybe see the struggle in their life and want to know where God is in the midst of it all.

      I’m off to visit your site again now.

      Many blessings in Messiah Yeshua to you and yours

  4. I understand your situation because I’ve been in similar situations. What I see is that your desire overrode the gentle voice of God. I don’t think you were in rebellion or shaking your fist at God. I don’t think you were transgressing His laws because dying your hair using chemicals isn’t a commandment. But what He tried to tell you was for your own benefit. I think that you just wanted something so badly, and that you were so determined to do this, that it sort of blocked out anything that goes against this strong desire. My guess is that you didn’t even give it much thought. In my experience, these things happen so quickly and so there really isn’t any time to weigh things out to determine if it’s best for you. And we don’t take this time to do this simply because…it’s just dying your hair – not a big deal. It has nothing to do with morals.

    Don’t beat yourself up over this because this is part of our fallen nature. While you may have disobeyed His instruction regarding dying your hair, I don’t think this is the same as sinning against Him because again, it is not one of His commandments. God’s message was tailor-made for you. It does not apply to all of us because not everyone has your condition. What He said to you is not a moral law.

    So how do you avoid this in the future?

    Phil 4:6-7 Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God; 7 and the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.

    Key phrase: “be anxious for nothing” meaning anything outside of God. If you did not have this strong desire, you may be heeded what He said. Keep your focus on Him always! Make Him your chief desire, your pleasure, your everything and everything else in this world will be like a dry piece of toast to you.
    Shalom – carol

  5. There are a number of times that I dismissed that still small voice and paid the consequences for it. But each time, I learned a very valuable lesson…how to hear and identify G-d’s voice. In the times of greatest danger…I listened and He kept me safe. But in the smaller things, I sometimes dismissed it. I think one of the most important things is to learn from it.

    I believe the most important thing of all, though, is that the whole experience affirms our relationship with YHWH…with our Creator. He loves us enough to SPEAK to our hearts! Wow! What an amazing thing! We are not alone…He is here with us! He LOVES us or He wouldn’t bother to warn us!

  6. I have been here before! I recall several times when I literally heard bells ringing and a big NO from God and yet…..and yet I did it anyway.
    The example I am thinking of has something to do with overspending, not tithing, and getting into debt. I had paid off all my debts except my car. This was a big feat for me. But materialism crept back in and I just had to have that new whatever. I can’t even remember what it was I bought. But here I am $3300 deeper in debt than I was the day I bought the thing that I couldn’t afford. Oh, I remember, it was a dress from Dillards. And look at where I’m at now…all because I didn’t want to wait for next paycheck and had to have it now. Because of card payments, I missed TITHE payments, and then I got slammed with even more bills than before. I really believe it was because I didn’t have the faith to obey.
    This was a great post.

    1. Hi Leah, thanks for sharing your experience. I hope everything worked out in the end… I do feel a lot better now, not as good as I did but getting there praise YAH. The whole experience has taught me a lot about faith and obedience and understanding that God knows what is truly best for me. I also have really enjoyed talking to you today, I have learnt a lot about you and where you come from.

      xxx

Please leave a reply, I would love to hear what you think

