Follow Me (A meditative reflection)

I sit here and think about my life, my condition, my health.
I am talking to You now and know that a change is needed.
You have taught me many things here where I sit,
I see that I need to exert myself more in order to overcome, but what You are asking of me seems like such hard work.

I said to You, “I wish I could be normal, why do I have to be like You?”
And You replied “everyone who loves Me follows Me.”

disciples following Jesus
Everyone who loves Me follows Me


I sigh.

I sigh because I know what I have to do, I know that I want to do it but I am scared also.
Scared to pick it up, scared to step out, afraid that I will drop it.
Then You remind me that you were afraid too, and that you dropped Your own several times but…
You gained so much love, support, strength and courage from those who loved you, who helped you stand back up and continue on.

Jesus being helped to carry His cross
Not alone


My Father, on that day, what didn’t You do for me?
So what can’t I do for You?

The Passion of the Christ

I see You now standing and talking with the rich man,
He asks You “What can I do?”
You answer Him and say “Follow Me.”
But he is also afraid, too afraid in so many ways to step out and leave what he has known behind.
I don’t want to be like him, knowing what I should do but being unable to step out.

You are teaching me a new lesson here, that to love is to obey and to learn is to apply.
What use are knowledge, wisdom, revelation and understanding if it remains cloaked in silent darkness?
What You have taught me I have to apply,
What you say I must do.
Teach me to apply Your Word Oh Yah,
Show me how to apply Your Word.

Maybe, this is a new adventure, a new step, a new degree of glory but I am afraid,
I cannot explain why.
Maybe I’m afraid of the struggle I will face.
Is this Your passion here?

Jesus in Gethsemane

Teach me to be strong,
To find the courage to step out somehow,
To find the strength to continue and make my way to…
I don’t know where.

But please, but please, but please, but please, but please be near me… be with me.
I pray.

Amen.

This week I’m linking up with …

6 thoughts on “Follow Me (A meditative reflection)

  1. so eloquently written, displaying both the pull of the struggle and pull to obey out of love.

    yes, this line touched me so: that to love is to obey and to learn is to apply.

  2. He calls us…answering is at once hard yet longed for. Your prayer found its way to my heart. Strength and courage comes with God’s presence and nearness.

    1. Thank you Pamela. Yes you are right every day I ask God for strength and courage to face it and every day He provides. I am learning and have learnt to take things one day at a time but as you can probably tell God still challanges me to do something new, to take a bigger step each day. For someone who struggles against wanting to remain buried under the covers vs. wanting to do for God, this can be difficult.

      Thank you for stopping by and many blessings to you on this new day.

  3. I love your honesty – it can be so hard to follow God’s ways sometimes, but He has done so much for us, and in the end it is worth it. I will pray for you to have strength and courage – it does get easier as we take steps in the right direction. I was thinking of Psalm 23 as I read this, that Jesus is our shepherd, who guides us and leads us and is with us the whole way through the valley of the shadow of death and to green pastures and still waters.

Please leave a reply, I would love to hear what you think

