(sticky post)!!!The first day of my new life…?

When I told my husband Eke on Monday that it was the first day of my new life, his eyebrow rose as if to say “really, again?” and I was quick to explain that although I had other ‘first days’, that this day marked the first day of this era of my life just like the others had marked the entrance of transition in times past.  Monday the 25th of July 2011 was different because I woke up with the sensation that something fantastic was about to happen in my life based on God’s revelation and my acceptance that I am His own vessel, set aside for good works!  There seemed to be an extra brightness about the day, an increased clarity that made me feel alive in the Holy Spirit; I knew on that day, that was the day that I would write my affirmation.

What is an affirmation?  I hear you say.  Well, for me an affirmation is statements of belief that have been revealed to me over a process of time which includes my knowledge of who God is, His relationship with me and His promises to me concerning my healing.  The purpose of my affirmation was and is for me to vocalise my faith in God every day as a weapon against a doubting mind and a crafty enemy.

The problem is that I didn’t think I would need it so soon, but I have needed to ‘affirm’ my faith and it has even been a struggle for me at times to pick up my affirmation and read it, but the funny thing is that in to the second line I begin to recall the faith that wrote those words.  Every line is a testimony of an overcoming experience which gives me reason to hold on to hope and let go of fear, every line is a piece of knowledge that I have gained through my Father leading me by the hand and teaching me His truth.

And when I get to the last word of my affirmation, I feel strengthened to get through the day because He has plans for my own good.  In times when I feel down I hold on to the promises captured in one of my favourite psalms (Psalm 27):

13 I (would) had fainted, unless I had believed to see the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living. 14 Wait on the Lord: be of good courage, and he shall strengthen thine heart: wait, I say, on the Lord.

The bible is my promise book, every thing I hope for, everything I believe about God, His nature and His plans are from His word.  If I can’t hope in Him I have nothing left, so in times of deep distress I think to myself: “do I believe that I will see the goodness of the LORD in my life?” Well, if God’s word says He has plans for my good, I am left doing as David advises, trying to find the courage to hang on and waiting on the God of infinite grace.

FREE HEALING, HEALTH & WELL-BEING EBOOK AVAILABLE – FIND OUT MORE HERE

41 thoughts on “(sticky post)!!!The first day of my new life…?

  1. Florence,
    thank you for sharing your journey to the things of God! I am inspired by your courage and pray God’s blessing on your life. Thanks for stopping by my Blog and for your encouragement of me with this new thing the Lord has placed on my heart.
    Colleen

    1. Florence,

      I feel you are very close to God and He hears your every word. I is wonderful how you have the ability to express you feelings for God in writing. I myself can only pray to God and try to express my true feelings. I feel that your words can and will help others in their walk with the Lord.

      Joy

  2. Yes, godly change is often painful…but oh so worth it! I don’t wish for trials, but I am comforted knowing that through them God will grow and refine me. Thanks for your encouraging post.

    Blessings, Joan

  3. I think mile markers in our journey of faith are crucial, like an altar to lay down our will and submit to God’s authority. I have a handful of stones marking my faith journey, most of them born out of pain but each precious. I’ve struggled with an undiagnosed illness for two years now and stating my faith and belief in a good God who loves me has been important. Writing out what I believe is important. It seems it’s in those times that what we believe rushes to our minds and out of our mouths more than at any other. Your steadfast trust honors him!

  4. Thank you Joan and Beck for your comments,

    Joan, I fully agree with not wishing for trials but like you I am comforted to know that they are not in vain.

    Hi Beck, thank you for sharing a bit of your own story. I can absolutley sympathise with what you say, writing an affirmation and speaking my belief in God’s goodness towards me has helped me enormously. When I think back from where I started to today, even though I experience bad days I cannot help but see God’s hand in my life re-creating me into something more like Him. I trust Him more now because He has really shown me that He is trustworthy, I could not make it through today without Him.

    Thank you so much for your comments x

  5. Everyday we should feel that it is the first day of our new life, because it really is! A new day with no mistakes in it (yet!), a chance to be a better, more loving, more giving person, a day to give God more of ourselves! Hallelujah! God gives us so many chances, doesn’t He? Patsy from HeARTworks

    1. Amen Patsy, He really does. Thank you for taking time to stop by and leave a few words. I really enjoyed visiting your blog. 🙂 Art and drawing is something I would really like to get back into.

  6. This is the day the Lord has made, I will rejoice in it. I like your approach that this is the first day and naturally a new day to experience our salvation. Confessions of faith and who HE is and who WE ARE IN Christ will assist us to build a firm foundation. Excellent post and thank you for your comments to my “Locked Jaw.”

  7. Thanks for this piece. Relying on the promises of God is our best bet as Christians. If it had not been for the Lord on our side, tell me where we would have been. whose report should we believe. All other promises have expiry dates, but God’s promises are eternal. Hold on and stay Blessed!

    1. Dear Abigail,

      yes sometimes hanging on is all we can do and even then that can take every drop of strength and faith we possess just to hold on. I could really see your desire to see and feel God in your prayer and I could 101% relate to that. I do yearn so much to be buried in HIM and feel His essence make me whole, there is nothing like YHVH.

      I have subscribed to follow you, so will be popping over again in due time.

      Many blessings in Yeshua

  8. Yahweh (God) is our refuge, our strength, and our shield. There is no real comfort and peace in this world apart from Him. Whatever trial you’re going through, continue to cling to Him. And how beautiful it is to see that you ARE clinging to Him when most would shake their fists at Him.
    God bless you! Shalom.

  9. so glad you are back — your words are so refreshing, your heart baring a beautiful thing to read.

    I love how you used Psalm 27: 13-14 — it is such a clear picture of how desperate we are for a Savior and how He wants us to wait upon Him.

    1. Dear L,

      I’m so glad that you found comfort in these words today, from visiting your blog I have a little knowledge of what you may go through on a day to day basis.

      You are the second person today who has commented on this post so I had to read it again and I’m so glad I did, to be honest I still struggle to find the strength and courage to persevere everyday! To be honest, God gave me perseverence a my word for 2012, boy have I struggled but I’ve also written on how receiving this word has effected me, the good, bad and the ugly… I would be so happy if you also find some comfort in these words.

  10. Thank you for joining up with me Abigail, like you I had a first day but it continues as yours is doing, it’s a lot of wordage but I would like to share it with you because it was my turning point in what is called Freedom in Christ Jesus.

    After coming to real heart repentance but because of so much conflicting teaching I felt very unsure about what was Truth and so had doubts. One day as I was reading the Scriptures a verse touched my heart, Mark 9:24 some Christians call this a Rhema Scripture, it said… that a man’s son was in need of healing and Jesus asked him do you believe, the man answered yes I believe but please help my unbelief and so I also asked Jesus to help my unbelief.

    Not long after this realizing I was very confused because of the conflicting teaching in the Churches and by Theologians and Evangelists even those who had a high profile and yes they all claimed what they believed was True but what they taught was different which means some of them were trusting in their own worldly understanding or what they had been taught instead of God’s Truth. I knew this to be True because The Holy Spirit does not say one thing to one person and something different to someone else when it contradicts and as I knew we are not to agree to disagree but to take our difference to God and he will show us who is in error because we are to have the same focus and to be of one mind and purpose, it confused me greatly because how could they all have the mind of Christ and also be in conflict which was shown by their division .

    I prayed to God for His help again and He gave me another Rhema Scripture James1:5-8 I asked in Faith for God’s wisdom and I have no doubts that I have received it and that it is growing in my heart in knowelage and insight and will continue to do so as He perfects me in His Love to conform me to the image of His Son. What God has shared with me He has confirmed in His written word by His Living Word but as I said before I am still learning but I know without a doubt what God has already shown me His Truth and I don’t doubt it …. Jesus tells us we don’t have because we don’t ask with Faith believing what He says He will do and I found this is very True.

    Why don’t people understand because they don’t ask! I will leave a link for you Abigail and if you feel this comment is too long then feel free to delete it if wanted.Thanks again and I look forward to sharing with you.

    http://alifeofhopeandjoy.wordpress.com/category/woman-of-kingdom-wisdom/

    Christian Love Anne.

    1. Hi Anne, thanks so much, I really don’t mind the length, it’s encouraging for me to hear the stories of others. I feel you were right in testing everything scripturally and spiritually, we only have one life so one shot at salvation, so finding and knowing the truth is key so we can be set free.

      Just to let you know that my name is Florence.

      Thank you again and blessings and love in Messiah

      1. Sorry Florence I’m not sure where Abigail came from perhaps one of the comments…I get so confused with all the Blog names, I have one myself but always use Anne or Annie on my replys and comments but that is my choice and I do so because I feel it is more friendly and real.

        Christian Love Anne

  11. Hi! I enjoyed your post. Those verses in Psalms 27 is one of my favorites in the Bible. To me, it speaks of the necessity of faith/belief. God absolutely can be trusted! Bless you! –Sebastian

    1. Hi Sebastian (what a wonderful name), thank you for your kind words of encouragement. I’m learning everyday that God is dependable and infinitely good and merciful, He has kept me thus far 🙂 Thank you also for subscribing to my blog, may you continue to be blessed with wisdom and compassion in everything you do.

    1. Yes, I did read what God did with both you and your wife, He is so awesome I’m really just scratching the surface 🙂 I am relearning how to live with the focus being, God you tell me and guide me. He said seek first the Kingdom and then everything else will flow from this… Just beginning to get it.

      Blessings to you in His name.

  12. Awesome post!!! 🙂

    When I was a child, my grandmother used to read this Psalm to me all the time with emphasis on verse 14. Several years ago I did an in-depth study of this Psalm and the Holy Spirit really blessed me. Please allow me to share part of what I received. 🙂

    As you may already know, 🙂 the word ‘wait’ in verse 14 is translated from the Hebrew word QAVAH (Strong’s H6960). It is a verb and a root word which refers to waiting (lingering), looking for eagerly, hoping and expecting. It also means to collect or bind together in such a way that whatever is bound together is entwined.

    We are to bind together with the LORD, linger when waiting for Him, and look for Him eagerly with hope and expectation. We are to do this with courage (resolute strength) because He will strengthen (confirm, affirm, assure) our inner part (soul, mind, will, heart, understanding). Thanks for your post, which brought back so many memories, and for allowing me to share my thoughts. Blessings!

    In Christ! Sheldon.

    1. Thanks for your response I loved it 🙂 Funnily enough, I have not looked at the Strongs but what you have said makes complete sense to me. I remember thinking a few years back that the reason I hold on through all this pain and through what looks seemingly impossible is because I have bound myself to God and so I w ait in eager longing for Him to fulfill and complete His will in me.

      Thank you so much for breaking this down for me and sharing so beautifully.
      You might find my latest post on 2d and 3d words interesting. 🙂

      May the One bless you

      1. Praise God!
        Remember, the scripture says iron sharpens iron. 🙂 You are bound to God because of your faith. It is the same faith (mustard seed sized at the time) that you used when you first believed. I can only imagine how much it has grown since. You are Abraham’s child and you belong to God. There is nothing impossible for God. Be encouraged and know in full assurance, God sees you, knows you personally, and has blessed you according to Isaiah 61:3. 🙂

  13. This is a great post! In my VBS Teen Class last summer we wrapped up each day asking the teens if they knew God, and believed in the death, buriel, and resurrection of HIs son Jesus Christ. Most were too shy to admit before their peers that they did, but instead turned and asked us instructors, Did we believe?

    We all replied a powerful yes, and one of the instructors proceeded to tell her story. Of course with them being teenagers they will challenge you, so they then asked, how many times have you accepted the Lord? I responded by saying I accept Christ every morning when I wake, because every day is a new day, with new challenges, and a new me. That it is by HIs grace and mercy am I allowed to be forgiven for my sins immediately and that I am able to have a fresh start every minute i live.

    Never had I been so bold to profess Christ before a group that judges soo often yet dislike being judged. It sparked a lot of questions, and it opened the door for them to begin to see Christ in all His glory.

    Faith in Christ affirms our love for Him, and I felt so loved that very minute. If it had not been for me faithfully trusting that God would guide my tongue at that moment, many of the teens would have thought us to be hypocrits.

    Thanks again for the faith reminder. Just reading your post reminded me of the many times God has proven Himself faithful to me for my faithfulness. This blog will definitely carry me through. (sorry so long)

    ~Dorothy

  14. What a heart-warming post! Very encouraging and inspirational…thank you so much for sharing..many, many blessings to you…Robin

Please leave a reply, I would love to hear what you think

